Concentrations and Independent Study


Other College Options

Areas of Concentration

Students may develop a second area of study to complement the major study. A minimum of  18 credits will be required. Areas of concentration may be chosen from among those offered as multidisciplinary concentrations, or in departments/ schools of the University College: Arts 9 Sciences * Professional Studies or other University colleges. To know more about the minors offered by the University College, please click here.


Adviser-approved electives may be chosen from regular courses offered in any of the baccalaureate programs of the other colleges or Wroxton College if prerequisites are met. Usually, elective courses are taken in the last two years. Courses that are used to explore major fields of interest also can be used as electives.

Independent Study

In accord with school criteria, students may take individual intensive study under the direction of a specific faculty member. Approvals of the instructor, appropriate school director(s) and College dean are required. A total of 6 credits of independent study toward completion of requirements for the degree is permitted; any exceptions must be approved by the school director and the College dean.