April/May 2016

ISE and CHRMS Celebrate Anniversaries

FDU’s Institute for Sustainable Enterprise (ISE) and its Center for Human Resource Management Studies (CHRMS) celebrated their 10th and 25th anniversaries, respectively, with a special gala at the Westin Governor Morris Hotel in Morristown, N.J., on April 7. The ISE, which is housed in the Silberman College of Business, is an educational research hub for sustainable business practices in New Jersey and beyond. It also funds student scholarships to study in programs focused on sustainability management. The event was co-led by Joel Harmon, management (Flor), ISE executive director and co-founder, and Jeana Wirtenberg, ISE co-founder and senior adviser.

Speakers, Awardees Combo Shot
From left are David Levine, founder, American Sustainable Business Council; Jonas Haertle, head PRME (Principles for Responsible Management Education) secretariat, U.N. Global Compact; Joel Harmon, management (Flor), ISE executive director and co-founder, with Dana Patterson, BS’08 (Flor), recipient of the Honoree Award for Student Engagement; and student-attendees Kelly Petillion, Miles Rodgers and CL (Charles) Doyle.

Among the 170 people in attendance at the 100-percent green and carbon-neutral event were representatives from FDU and many major New Jersey companies and organizations interested in the field of sustainability. Featured speakers were: Jonas Haertle, head PRME (Principles for Responsible Management Education) secretariat, U.N. Global Compact; Charlene Wall-Warren, sustainability director, BASF; and David Levine, founder, American Sustainable Business Council. U.S. Sen. Cory Booker sent a surprise video honoring ISE/CHRMS’ “past present and future.” (See https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H_0ACqIaves.)

Honorees included: Professor Emeritus of Management Daniel Twomey; FDU alumna Dana Patterson, BS’08 (Flor); ISE Senior Fellow Matt Polsky; and longtime corporate partner Christopher Walsh, vice president, human resources, ASCO Numatics.

Organizations that received awards for their outstanding sustainability practices included: Alcoa, Advanced Solar, BASF, Hackensack University Medical Center, Ingersoll Rand, New Jersey-PACE, PSE&G, Sustainable Morristown, Verizon and Wakefern ShopRite.

The event also launched a statewide New Jersey Sustainable Economy Action Roundtable (NJ-SEAR) to promote a greener, cleaner, more flourishing economy. Charter members include: Becton Dickinson & Co. (BD), Bristol-Myers Squibb Co., Campbell Soup Co., the Employers Association of New Jersey, the New Jersey Business and Industry Association, the New Jersey State Chamber of Commerce, PSE&G, Sabert Corp., Samsung Electronics America, Verizon and the U.S. Green Building Council of New Jersey.

“Ten years for ISE is a milestone worthy of recognition, [and] in many ways the anniversaries we celebrated [at this event] are as meaningful as the founding celebrations,” said Silberman College Dean Andrew Rosman. “Building on that perspective, we can take the liberty to dream more about what accomplishments lie ahead, but with even greater confidence that they will be realized than at the founding.”

Group Shot
From left are Ellen Kondracki, BD; Bob Coleman, Church & Dwight; Gretchen Digby, Ingersoll Rand; Christopher Capuano, University provost and senior vice president for academic affairs (Metro/Flor); Joel Harmon, management (Flor) and ISE executive director and co-founder; Charlene Wall-Warren, BASF; Jeana Wirtenberg, ISE co-founder and senior adviser; and Andrew Rosman, dean, Silberman College (Metro/Flor).