Inside FDU Nov/Dec 2014

Academic Cooperation with Korean University Established

Fairleigh Dickinson University and Sookmyung Women’s University in Seoul, Korea, recently signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to foster international cooperation in education and research.

Korean Signing - Presidents
The Memorandum of Understanding was signed by FDU President Sheldon Drucker, left, and Sookymung Womens University President Sun Hye Hwang.

Sookmyung Women’s University is Korea’s first national private women’s school. It was founded in 1906 and has grown to become Korea’s leading women’s university. The school has more than 100,000 alumni and 13,000 students 

Both parties agreed to encourage the following activities and to promote international academic cooperation: an exchange of materials in education and research, e.g., publications; an exchange of faculty, research scholars and students; establishment of programs for each other’s students; ease of transfer of students between the two universities; and a joint research and meetings for education and research.

Long-term relations and initiatives of common interest will be developed, especially in the fields of languages and teaching. Further development is planned for the areas of business, liberal arts, engineering, natural sciences and nursing.

This MOU became effective on October 28, 2014. The implementation of this agreement at FDU will be supervised by Diana Cvitan, director of global learning and partnerships, international education (Metro).

Korean Signing - Group
Present at the agreement signing were, seated, from left, Sheldon Drucker, FDU president; and Sun Hye Hwang, Sookmyung Women’s University president; and, standing, from left, Dong Ju Choi, vice president of external affairs, Sookymyung; Swoo Suh, associate vice president of external affairs, Sookmyung; Diana Cvitan, director of global learning and partnerships, international education (Metro); Liz Nigrinis, assistant director for global partnerships and director of the Two Worlds Program (Metro); and Kenneth Vehrkens, dean, Petrocelli College (Metro/Flor).