Baylouny named a Fellow of ACS


The American Chemical Society (ACS) has named Dr. Raymond Baylouny to the 2016 class of ACS Fellows. The group includes 57 scientists who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in chemistry and made important contributions to ACS, the world’s largest scientific society.

The 2016 Fellows will be recognized at a ceremony and reception on Monday, Aug. 22, during the Society’s 252nd National Meeting & Exposition in Philadelphia.  

“We’re so proud of our colleague, Dr. Raymond Baylouny, and his selection as a 2016 ACS Fellow,” Dr. Geoffrey Weinman, Dean of the Becton College of Arts and Sciences, said. “Ray joined Fairleigh Dickinson University in 1963 as an Organic Chemist, and was beloved by both students and faculty alike. With this recognition, he continues to bring honor to the University.”

The ACS Fellows Program was created by the ACS Board of Directors in December 2008 “to recognize members of ACS for outstanding achievements in and contributions to science, the profession and the Society.”

The official list of names appears in the July 18, 2016, issue of Chemical & Engineering News. Click here for a list of all ACS Fellows (2009-2015) that can be organized by name and institution.

The American Chemical Society is a nonprofit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. With nearly 157,000 members, ACS is the world’s largest scientific society and a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals and scientific conferences. Its main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

FDU Office of Public Relations

Dina Schipper,
Director of Public Relations
Fax: 201-692-7019

Scott Giglio,
Assistant Director of Public Relations

Dan Landau,
PR and Social Media Coordinator

Helen Grill,
Senior General Clerk
Fax: 201-692-7019