Academic Convocation 2014

Minna Proctor 1
Keynote speaker Minna Proctor

Fairleigh Dickinson University celebrated Academic Convocation — an annual event that formally kicks off the new academic year and recognizes the achievements of faculty and staff — on September 17, 2014 at the Florham Campus.

"...What it felt like to be at college: the consuming energy, the sense of potential, the electricity of your brain working, how you can feed off curiosity, the sacred space of a beautiful campus, the incredible gift of having your purpose not only defined for you, but also attainable. Your job is to learn. Nothing is ever again quite so linear after college. I loved college. Can you tell?" said Minna Proctor, editor of The Literary Review and creative writing faculty member, in her keynote address, “An Unconventional Education.” She shared her personal educational history, weaving together the threads of loving to read, overcoming a learning disability, succeeding in college and finding a home at TLR and FDU.

Convo faculty
University Provost Christopher Capuano, Professor Paulette Laubsch and Associate Professors Khyati Joshi and Kent Fairfield (L to R). (Photos by Bill Blanchard)

The deans of University College: Arts • Sciences • Professional Studies, Silberman College of Business, Petrocelli College of Continuing Studies, Becton College of Arts and Sciences and the School of Pharmacy  introduced new faculty to the community. University President Sheldon Drucker also addressed the crowd.

Watch the full video of Convocation 2014.

Pillar Florham
Florham Provost Peter Woolley and Michael Ervelli (L to R). Ellen Miller was unable to attend the ceremony.

Distinguished Faculty Awards

This year's honorees were Paulette Laubsch, professor of administrative sciences, Distinguished Faculty Award for Service; Kent Fairfield, associate professor of management, Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching; and Khyati Joshi, associate professor of education, Distinguished Faculty Award for Research and Scholarship. University Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Christopher Capuano presented the awards.

Pillars of FDU Award

The Pillars of FDU Awards are given to staff members who make extraordinary contributions to FDU and who have been with the University for more than 10 years.

This year's awards for the Florham Campus were presented to Michael Ervelli, manager of buildings and grounds, and Ellen Miller, associate director of enrollment management.

Pillars Metro
Bill Doran, Metropolitan Provost Joseph Kiernan and Elizabeth Dikovics (L to R).
Prez citations all
Adjunct Professor Eli Amdur, Associate Professor Marion McClary, University President Sheldon Drucker, Professor Alfredo Tan and Assistant Metropolitan Provost Craig Mourton (L to R).

This year's Metropolitan Campus Pillars recipients were Elizabeth Dikovics, special assistant to the vice president of enrollment management, and William Doran, multimedia specialist. They are pictured here with Metropolitan Campus Provost Joseph Kiernan.

Presidential Citations

President Drucker awarded a Presidential Citation to Craig Mourton, Metropolitan Campus assistant provost, and Eli Amdur, BA’68 (Ruth) and adjunct faculty member, for founding and nurturing Sands of Time, an out-of-the-classroom intellectual, social and cultural experience for students and faculty.

Drucker also bestowed a Presidential Citation upon Alfred Tan, director of Lee Gildart and Oswald Haase School of Computer Sciences and Engineering and professor of electrical engineering, and Marion McClary, co-director of the School of Natural Sciences and associate professor of biological sciences. Both educators have contributed to the growth of STEM studies at the University through groundbreaking outreach programs aimed at minority, female and other underserved student populations.