County College of Morris and Fairleigh Dickinson University establish dual admissions program


Edward Yaw, president of County College of Morris, and Sheldon Drucker, president of Fairleigh Dickinson University, read and sign a new articulation agreement. Under the new agreement, CCM students can enroll in FDU at a reduced tuition rate. At the announcement, from left, are Bette Simmons, vice president of student development and enrollment management at CCM; CCM President Yaw; FDU President Drucker; Dwight Smith, vice president of academic affairs at CCM; and Peter Woolley, Florham Campus provost and FDU senior vice provost for government and community affairs. (Photos by W. Scott Giglio)


By Kenna Caprio

Under a new partnership between County College of Morris and Fairleigh Dickinson University, CCM students can seamlessly transfer credits into a bachelor’s or master’s degree program at FDU and receive generous academic scholarship incentives.

The two schools announced the formation of the CCM-FDU Scholars Program at FDU, as University President Sheldon Drucker and CCM President Edward Yaw signed the articulation agreement on June 16, 2015.

“This is a great opportunity for the students of Morris County, both at CCM and FDU, that they can afford,” said Drucker.

The agreement allows students to enroll in the scholars program as entering freshmen, or during the course of their first year at CCM. All credits taken at CCM, up to the maximum of sixty-four that comprise an associate degree, can be considered for transfer to FDU.

“CCM has a long-standing relationship with FDU and this agreement takes it to another level,” said Yaw. “This program makes the transition more seamless, as advisors from both institutions help students stay on track for an associate degree and a bachelor’s degree. Coupled with significant reductions in tuition, there are many advantages for our students, and I expect that it will result in more of our students transferring to FDU.”

CCM-FDU 3Students in the CCM-FDU Scholars Program will be eligible for up to a 40% reduction from the appropriate FDU tuition rate upon completion of the associate degree and enrollment in an FDU degree program. High academic performing CCM graduates, such as NJSTARS II and members of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, are eligible for even greater scholarships.

“Nonprofit universities in New Jersey contribute $10.3 billion to the state economy,” said Peter Woolley, the Florham Campus provost and senior vice provost for government and community affairs. “One way we do this is by keeping students in state, with CCM providing low-cost higher education and FDU attracting those graduates and providing them with the intellectual capital they need to be successful.”

The CCM-FDU Scholars Program is the most recent of Fairleigh Dickinson University’s many efforts to help students achieve their educational goals at an affordable cost.

Through its Community College Partnership program, FDU has brought bachelor’s and master’s degree programs to underrepresented areas of the state of New Jersey since 2001. To date, the University has conferred nearly 1,500 degrees through its Community College Partnership program.