Welcome to the Regional Center for Learning Disabilities

Regional Center Application: Fillable Format

Information Sessions for Parents and Students

Throughout the year, the Regional Center for Learning Disabilities hosts one-hour sessions offering helpful information about its programs and application process.

Metropolitan Campus, Teaneck, NJ, June through December 2018

Regional Center, Robison Hall, Fifth Floor (unless otherwise indicated)
RSVP: Barbara Byrnes 201-692-2716 or bbyrnes@fdu.edu

  • Information Session, Wednesday, June 20 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Wednesday, August 8 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Wednesday, September 12 at 10 AM.
  • Special Information Session, Thursday, September 20 at 5:30 PM
    This session will be held prior to the Bergen County College Fair. Please RSVP for the exact location.
  • Information Session, Wednesday, October 3 at 10 AM.
  • Special Information Session, Sunday, October 28 time TBD.
    This session is held during the Admissions Open House.
  • Information Session, Thursday, November 8 at 10 AM.
  • Metacognitive Strategies, Monday, November 12 at 7 PM.
    An overview of reading/studying/organizing strategies to assist students in their college careers. Robison Hall, Fifth Floor, Center for Learning Disabilities.
  • Information Session, Wednesday, November 28 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Wednesday, December 5 at 10 AM.

Florham Campus, Madison, NJ, June through December 2018

Sarah Sullivan Lounge, Hennessy Hall (The Mansion), (unless otherwise indicated)
RSVP: Mary Hebert 973-443-8981 or hebert@fdu.edu

  • Information Session, Tuesday, June 12 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Tuesday, August 7 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Thursday, September 13 at 10 AM.
  • Transition to College Workshop, Thursday, October 4 at 7 PM.
    An insider's guide to making a successful transition to college for students with IEPs and 504 plans. Hennessy Hall (the Mansion), Hartman Lounge.
  • Information Session, Thursday, October 11 at 6 PM.
  • Information Session, Sunday, October 21 time TBD.
  • Information Session, Thursday, November 8 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Thursday, November 15 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, December 6 at 10 AM.

Metropolitan Campus, Teaneck, NJ, January through May 2019

Regional Center, Robison Hall, Fifth Floor (unless otherwise indicated)
RSVP: Barbara Byrnes 201-692-2716 or bbyrnes@fdu.edu

  • Information Session, Wednesday, January 9 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Wednesday, January 23 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Wednesday, February 6 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Monday, February 18 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Wednesday, March 6 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Wednesday, March 27 at 10 AM.
  • Transition to College Workshop, Monday, April 8 at 7 PM.
    An insider's guide to making a successful transition to college for students with IEPs and 504 plans.
  • Information Session, Wednesday, April 10 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Wednesday, April 124 at 6:30 AM.
  • Information Session, Wednesday, May 1 at 10 AM.

Florham Campus, Madison, NJ, January through May 2019

Sarah Sullivan Lounge, Hennessy Hall (The Mansion)
RSVP: Mary Hebert 973-443-8981 or hebert@fdu.edu

  • Information Session, Thursday, January 10 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Thursday, January 24 at 7 PM.
  • Information Session, Thursday, February 7 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Monday, February 18 at 10 AM.
  • Student Panel, Thursday, February 21 at 7 PM.
    Current students will discuss the value of the Regional Center for Learning Disbabilities' services and their own transition to college. They will also share strategies that have made them successful. Hennessey Hall (the Mansion), Hartman Lounge.
  • Information Session, Thursday, March 7 at 7 PM.
  • Information Session, Thursday, March 28 at 10 AM.
  • Metacognitive Strategies, March 20 at 7 PM
    An overview of reading/studying/organizing strategies to assist students in their college careers. Hennessey Hall (the Mansion), Hartman Lounge.
  • Information Session, Thursday, April 11 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Thursday, April 25 at 10 AM.
  • Information Session, Thursday, May 2 at 10 AM.

Center Overview

  • Comprehensive professional support at no cost to students with a language-based learning disability enrolled at both our Metropolitan and Florham campuses during their undergraduate career.
  • Structured plan of intensive academic support and counseling services tailored to the unique learning needs of each student.
  • Staffed by a Director, Learning Specialists with expertise in learning disabilities/content areas, and a Professional Counselor.
  • Typical freshman receives up to four support sessions a week per semester, sophomores three supports a semester, juniors and seniors one or two supports per semester.
  • A three-credit Metacognitive Strategies/Assistive Technology course taught by Regional Center staff and a half-hour counseling session each week.
  • A typical Regional Center student has an outstanding record of success and is an active participant in all areas of college life.

Informative Downloads

Contact Information

Metropolitan Campus (Teaneck)
Barbara A. Byrnes, MA, Director
bbyrnes@fdu.edu
201-692-2716

Florham Campus (Madison)
Mary Hebert, Director
hebert@fdu.edu
973-443-8981

Follow Regional Center on Twitter Follow us on Twitter @fduregionalcntr