Program Faculty/Staff


Michael A. Ansonoff, Ph.D.

Dr. Ansonoff received his Ph.D. from the Sue Golding Graduate program at Albert Einstein Medical School of Yeshiva University (Neuroscience Program) following training in the laboratory of Dr. Anne Etgen on cellular and behavioral mechanisms by which ovarian steroids regulate brain function. His research involved investigating the regulatory mechanisms by which ovarian steroids desensitize adrenergic receptors in the female rodent. He then completed a 5-year post-doctoral fellowship at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey studying the behavioral and pharmacological consequences of opioid receptor gene ablation in mice. Presently, he is still at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, however, his research interests have shifted towards examining the consequences of the knockout of the nociceptin receptor and its endogenous ligand on food consumption and obesity. In addition, he has developed a keen interest in science education leading him to complete a M.A. in education at Fairleigh Dickinson University.

Laura G. Leahy, MSN, APRN, PMH-CNS/FNP, BC

Ms. Leahy received her B.S. in Psychology & Human Development from Duke University in 1987 and her B.S.N. (1989) and M.S.N. (1991) in Child and Family Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing from the University of Pennsylvania. She is presently working on her DrNP at Drexel University and has completed all but her dissertation. Ms. Leahy has also been certified as a Master Psychopharmacologist through Stephen Stahl's Neuroscience Educational Institute. Laura has taught Advanced Psychopharmacology across the Lifespan at the University of Pennsylvania's School of Nursing for the past ten years. She was also involved as a clinical instructor for the inaugural Post-Doctoral Psychopharmacology Program at Fairleigh Dickinson University. Presently, Ms. Leahy maintains a private outpatient practice, specializing in treatment-resistant symptoms and psychopharmacology. She has been prescribing and providing psychotherapy services as a Family Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner for over 23 years. She was the co-founder of Center for Family Guidance, the largest privately held psychiatric mental health organization in New Jersey.

Ms. Leahy recently (May 2013) published The Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology for Nurses through the American Psychiatric Association and had previously published Pocket Psych Drugs (2010) through F. A. Davis. She presents extensively on the local, state and national levels on various topics related to psychopharmacology, pharmacogenetics, child & adolescent psychiatric disorders & pharmacological treatments as well as women's mental health, among other areas of psychiatry and mental health

Bret A. Moore, Psy.D., ABPP

Bret A. Moore is a board certified clinical psychologist in San Antonio, Texas, Prescribing Psychologist in New Mexico, and Adjunct Associate Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He is the author or editor of ten books including Pharmacotherapy for Psychologists: Prescribing and Collaborative Roles, Handbook of Clinical Psychopharmacology for Psychologists and Anxiety Disorders: A Guide for Integrating Psychopharmacology and Psychotherapy, which he co-edited with Stephen Stahl. He is also the series editor of Psychopharmacology and Psychotherapy in Clinical Practice for Routledge/Taylor & Francis Press.

Dr. Moore is a former active-duty Army psychologist and two-tour veteran of Iraq. He is a recipient of the Arthur W. Melton Award for Early Career Achievement in Military Psychology from Division 19 of the American Psychological Association and the Early Career Achievement Award from Division 18, and is a Fellow of the American Psychological Association. His views and opinions on clinical and military psychology have been quoted in USA Today, the New York Times, and the Boston Globe, and on NPR, the BBC, CNN, CBS News, Fox News and the CBC.

Merrill A. Norton, Pharm. D., D.Ph., ICCDP-D

Dr. Norton is a Clinical Associate Professor at the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy with his specialty areas to include psychopharmacology and addiction pharmacy. He has also been a faculty member of the Fairleigh-Dickinson University Postdoctoral Training Program in the Masters of Psychopharmacology, Alliant International University of San Francisco College of Psychology, University of Georgia School of Continuing Education, and Berry College in the areas of Psychopharmacology and Addiction Pharmacy. His area of specialty in addiction pharmacy is the management of chronic pain in the addicted patient.

Dr. Merrill Norton was recently honored by the Georgia Addiction Counselors Association in receiving the prestigious Distinguished Service Award for 2015. The award is bestowed on individuals for recognition of their long term support and commitment to the treatment and welfare of those affected by alcohol and drug addiction in Georgia and nationally. Dr. Norton’s efforts of educating thousands of behavioral health practitioners nationally to the disease states of substance use disorders and his dedication to the early prevention and intervention of addictive disease in Georgia’s families makes him a person uniquely qualified for this award. Also, Dr. Norton was the 2009 recipient of the Georgia School of Addiction Studies (GSAS) Excellence in Addiction Treatment Individual Achievement Award “for his unselfish dedication to the treatment of addicted families, not only in the state of Georgia, but nationally.” Dr. Norton was recognized by the GSAS Board of Directors for the ongoing development of undergraduate and graduate curriculum and drug research in the area of addiction pharmacy.

His book, The Pharmacology of Psychoactive Chemical Use, Abuse, and Dependence, and his DVD series, “The Hijacking of the Brain” have been used to train thousands of mental health professionals nationally; they have become the standards of teaching excellence in the addiction treatment profession. His new book, The Pharmacology of Substance Use Disorders will be released in 2016.